Why Boxing is the Best Thing That’s Happened to Me

Why Boxing is the Best Thing That’s Happened to Me

In the middle of the chaos of a busy lifestyle, any person can admit they need some kind of outlet to relieve stress. Even though I put on a smile 24/7, it’s not unusual I’m also one of those people who needs something to clear my mind once in awhile (blogging doesn’t always cut it – ha!).

Enter: Boxing.

CAM01864I love running, but sometimes it just isn’t enough. Boxing is perfect. And, it’s one of those “what you put in is what you get out” classes. If I put in 100 percent the whole hour, I’ll be on the floor (which has happened), but it’s great to go and let off steam through punching and kicking combinations. And, let me tell you, nothing is better than kicking the shi*t out of a punching bag when you’re in a bad mood.

Not only has boxing been great for relieving stress, it gives me a sense of empowerment like nothing else out there. I could run for miles and feel so untouchable, but boxing makes me feel strong , and I know I’m actually getting stronger, too, which is the best part.

From a personal training stance, boxing is one of the best workouts you can commit to if you want to see serious results. Boxing and kickboxing classes work all the main muscle parts: Legs, arms, and abs (Trust me, they all get an equal beating).

I’ve been going to for a couple months now and I can honestly say I still wake up sore the next day (which is a good thing because that means my muscles and growing bigger!).

No, it’s not for everyone, but I truly believe if you want to stay involved in a fit life you have to switch it up a bit. Challenge yourself and go outside the box. I take boxing classes at the UFC Gym (formerly LA Boxing), and they offer one free class. There – You have no excuse not to try!

If you try one, let me know how  it goes! I promise, if you’re looking to be pushed and are motivated to fight for your health (literally), you won’t be disappointed!

6 thoughts on “Why Boxing is the Best Thing That’s Happened to Me

  1. This is so crazy that you posted about this today. I just looked into UFC Gym by my apartment (Wrigleyville) location! I’m glad you love it because I’ve been meaning to give it a try. Have you found that you are losing fat + toning? I’m just afraid of bulking up and not losing fat. Which location do you go to?

    1. Hey! You live in wrigleyville!?!? I’m looking to move there.. I was living in lincoln park but i moved home after graduation… Reeeeally want to be back downtown! But I go to the one in orland park in the suburbs. I definitely think that I’m toning and I don’t even go as much as I’d like. I maybe go once or twice a week and just from that I feel more fit. You definitely wont bulk because it’s pretty much all body weight exercising. It’s definitely the kind of class where you can put in what you want out of it – so you can make it as hard or as easy if you want. I love it. It really kicks my ass and gives me a good workout. I can’t lie and say it’s not intense because it is, but I need a push like that to stay motivated.. you should definitely go try a class! I like kickboxing & boxing the most, some of the other classes are hard to follow and are for more advanced people. Sorry for ranting I hope that helps! Oh – and it might seem expensive but it’s totally worth it !!

      1. Thanks so much for getting back to me! I live on the border of Lincoln Park/Lakeview – technically I think it’s called “Lakeview East” so I’m not too far from the location in Wrigley. I’m really thinking about giving it a try and doing it along with cardio throughout the week. Thanks for a great post!

Leave a comment